Things to Keep You Occupied During a Storm (We Speak in Storms by Natalie Lund)


Storms can suck. We're trapped inside. Sometimes the power goes off. Cabin fever starts to build and you don't know what to do with yourself. In We Speak in Storms by Natalie Lund, three teens have experienced firsthand the devastation a storm can bring and how hard it is to overcome.  

In an effort to curb that cabin fever, here's a list of 10 things to keep yourself occupied during a storm:

1) Read! Of course, my favorite pastime would be first. Use this time stuck inside to pick up a book you've been meaning to get to and read your heart out. Bonus: this can be done by candlelight even if the power goes out!

2) Netflix binge. Yes, power is required for this one. If you're lucky enough to still have your lights, curl up under a blanket, make a big bowl of popcorn, and 

3) Pick up a craft project. Love to knit? Still working on that watercolor painting? Pick up your favorite project and let the calming nature of doing something creative put your mind at ease.

4) Clean up your room. Sorry, it's boring I know! But there's no better feeling than having a freshly cleaned room. Get it out of the way while you're stuck inside so you can really enjoy the good weather once the storm has passed.

5) Tell ghost stories. I will never grow out of telling ghost stories! There's something about gathering around in a circle when the power goes out and telling stories by candlelight that really sends chills up your spine!

6) Cuddle your pets. Animals sense atmospheric pressure changes and can be really freaked out when storms roll around! Give them some extra cuddles during the storm to put both them and yourself at ease.

7) Relax to some music. Take the mood lighting of flickering candles and add some of your favorite tunes to the mix, creating a relaxing oasis for you to ride out the storm in.

8) Play board or card games. Gather up your friends, family, roommates, whoever is around and get to some good old fashioned competition! Whether you're throwing down cards in Uno or snatching up properties in Monopoly, playing games is sure to make the time go by quickly. 

9) Talk to one another. This, like others, only works if you have other people around, but how often do we sit down with one another and actually talk? Ask them how they are, what's been happening in their lives. Take this opportunity to get to know each other. And even if it's family and you think you know them pretty well, I guarantee they have stories you haven't heard yet!

10) Stay safe. This last one isn't as fun as it is seriously important. Storms can be extremely dangerous and destructive, and if you've got a tornado, hurricane, or even just a thunderstorm heading your way, your first priority should be your safety. Pay attention to weather broadcasts and take any advice given by professionals regarding seeking shelter or evacuation.


About We Speak in Storms

Cover Art Courtesy of Penguin Teen
A powerful and haunting debut novel about friendship, acceptance, and learning to let go as the balance between the living and the dead is upended, perfect for fans of We Were Liars.
It's been more than 50 years since a tornado tore through a drive-in movie theater in tiny Mercer, Illinois, leaving dozens of teens -- a whole generation of Mercerites -- dead in its wake. So when another tornado touches down in the exact same spot on the anniversary of this small-town tragedy, the town is shaken. For Brenna Ortiz, Joshua Calloway, and Callie Keller, the apprehension is more than just a feeling. Though they seem to share nothing more than a struggle to belong, the teens' paths continue to intersect, bringing them together when they least expect it, and perhaps, when they need it most. Both the living and the dead have secrets and unresolved problems, but they may be able to find peace and move forward--if only they work together. 
A beautifully told, haunting yet hopeful novel about pushing past the pain, facing the world, and finding yourself.


About the Author


Natalie Lund (natalielund.com) is a former middle and high school teacher. A graduate of Purdue University's MFA program, she taught introductory composition and creative writing there, and also served as the fiction editor of The Sycamore Review. Natalie lives in Chicago with her husband. You can follow her on Twitter @nmlund.

Have you ever been affected by a major storm? How do you pass the time during storms?

Thanks so much to Penguin Teen for a finished copy of We Speak in Storms by Natalie Lund. This thrilling read is out now, and you can purchase it here!

6 comments

  1. Reading, card games, board games, and my fur babies would be at the top of my list!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Great posting! Reading is all I need, lol.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I love rainy days, but storms can be super scary. Thanks for the list!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Great list of things to do in a storm. If the power is on we also like to bake. The book looks very enjoyable.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Great post and great advices thank you so much for sharing your awesome post.

    ReplyDelete